Tags

, ,

2013 celebrates our second winter in Mad’ville.

I adjusted to this simple, country lifestyle pretty well as you might be able to tell.

As it turns out, I’m somewhat of an amateur naturalist. I’ve identified over forty birds in our woods and fifteen tree species. I can spot deer rubs, bobcat scratches, can tell the difference between a coyote and gray fox, can identify a jake, hen, and tom. I’m getting sharper at target practice. There might even be a turkey hunt in my future. And lastly, I hope to find fresh morel mushrooms under the poplars this Spring.

But mostly, I love to watch the birds.

So this month, like last month, I’m dedicating my blog post to the birds. See you next month. :)

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper’s Hawk

Red-bellied woodpecker

Red-bellied woodpecker

Carolina chickadee

Carolina chickadee

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

Northern Flickers

Northern Flickers

 

Goldfinches

Goldfinches

Common vulture

Common vulture

What have you been doing this February?

